Have yourselves a merry little Christmas!

Hola, todos! Merry Christmas! Provo is completely blanketed with snow and it’s gorgeous! I’m grateful to be a missionary during this special season and to be the Lord’s hands in a world that needs His love. I have no idea what our schedule is like for Christmas, besides the fact that an Apostle of the Lord will be speaking to us in the morning, which will be AWESOME. I’m so stoked! I love being a missionary and I love the MTC. Life is so amazing!

null

It’s Christmas-time at the MTC!

Let’s see… what happened this week that would be interesting to you? Hermano Heap, one of our beloved teachers, is no longer with us. Meaning that he took a job in LA. We miss him and his soft-spoken hilariousness but we’re in good hands being taught by Hermano Bailey (who played our first investigator, Christian). Also, we took our first Language Speaking Assessment… my scores came back… and according to the grading scale, I’m fully fluent in Spanish. Ha! Just wait until I have to use non-gospel-related vocabulary. I got nothin’.

null

Our district with Hermano Heap! I love all of these people so much!

This Sunday was a really really REALLY great day! The Spirit spoke to me in really strong, personal ways the whole day and it was AWESOME. First off, we got to watch part of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir Christmas concert. For anybody who went to it or saw it on Music and the Spoken Word: was that not the BEST concert ever? Oh my goodness, I was so touched during the story of “Hal” Halverson, the “Chocolate Bomber” in post-WWII Germany. The Spirit was so strong and really testified to me that the Lord works mighty miracles through small and simple means. Hal changed the world, and it all started with two sticks of gum. I felt so humbled by this. I’m not big and powerful and talented; I’m just plain old Hermana Ball. And yet God has called me to do a huge work (my mission) that is wayyyy bigger than me. But I know that as I follow the promptings of the Spirit to do small and simple things, the Lord will guide me and help me to change the world.

Also on Sunday Sister Elaine Dalton, the Young Women’s General President, spoke to the Sisters during Relief Society, and the Spirit taught me so many sacred, personal things. My eyes are slowly being opened with regards to the work that the Lord has for me to do in my life, and I want to always qualify myself for that inspiration and direction. I know with all my heart that one virtuous woman, led by the Spirit, can change the world, and that is exactly what I want to do.

Life is so good right now. Our teaching is improving, our investigators are progressing, and every day I’m coming closer to Christ. I’m trying to make a significant difference in the lives of the people around me in the MTC because my purpose is to “invite others to come unto Christ” and that includes other missionaries. As I do this, I can feel the love of the Savior in me, and it is AWESOME.

Gracias to Patti Evans for all of your stories and letters! Our zone is praying for your mother! And thanks to everybody who has sent me Christmas cards! You are the coolest! Go Niners, go Warriors, and go to BYU Jabari. Merry Christmas, everyone! Go serve someone in a significant way today!

Love and light,
Hermana Ball
HermanaBall.com

Leave a Reply

